Writing Center

How It All Started

The Writing Center Ad Hoc Committee was formed by the Department of Humanities in the School of Arts and Sciences during fall 2008. The committee consisted of six faculty members in the Department of Humanities: Evelyn Chatila (secretary), Orpha Darwish, Nuwar Diab, Rula Diab (Chair), Paula Habre, and Giselle Pempedjian. A proposal was prepared by Dr. Rula Diab and was based on general writing center literature and theoretical guidelines as well as on the specific discussions held and recommendations made by the committee members during their meetings.

In 2010, the Writing Center became a reality on the Beirut campus. Recognizing the same needs, an Ad Hoc committee was formed in 2012 for creating a writing center on the Byblos campus, and it became operational as of the spring of 2014.